Norwalk registrar updates totals, confirms recount in D

Norwalk Democrats took nearly all elected positions Tuesday.

Correction, 1 p.m.: Registrar’s office had error in Third Taxing District.

NORWALK, Conn. — Updated results released by the Norwalk Registrar’s Office on Wednesday afternoon change the voting tallies just a bit.

Republican Council incumbent Doug Hempstead is now ahead of Democratic newcomer William Pappa by 15 votes, instead of the six votes reported a 1 a.m. Wednesday.

The pair are battling for a Council seat, as Hempstead is second in the race.

There will be a recount Monday, Democratic Registrar Stuart Wells said, explaining that a recount is mandated if the candidates are less than .5 percent apart, or less than 20 votes apart.

Wells said the adjusted vote tally is because of discrepancies with people who are cross endorsed. Some voters mark a candidate twice, on a Democratic line and the Working Families Party line, he said.

Wells said he missed a step required by the computer program that counted votes. He was certain he’d done it but came in Wednesday morning to realize it hadn’t taken.

Absentee ballots are included in the counts, he said.

The new results:



Mayor’s race

  • Harry Rilling, D 7,934 (55.4 percent) elected
  • Lisa Brinton Thomson, U 3,265 (22.8 percent)
  • Andy Conroy, R 2,201 (15.3 percent)
  • Bruce Morris, D 913 (6.3 percent)


City Treasurer

  • Joe Tamburri, D 7,805 (elected)
  • Jerry Petrini, R 5,082


City Sheriff

  • Robert Burgess, D 7,892 (elected)
  • James Anderson, R 4,813


Town Clerk

  • Rick McQuaid, R 12,817 (elected)


Council at large

  • Barbara Smyth, D 7,930 (elected)
  • Greg Burnett, D 7,560 (elected)
  • Doug Stern, D 7,337 (elected)
  • Nick Sacchinelli, D 7,298 (elected)
  • Michael Corsello, D 7,020 (elected)
  • Rich Bonenfant, R 5,258
  • Mark Suda, R 5,199
  • Bill Dunne, R 4,058
  • Peter Halladay, R 3,990
  • Enrique Santiago, R 3,849
  • Diane Lauricella, petitioning candidate 1,371
  • Sharon Stewart, WFP 1,130


Council District A

  • Eloisa Melendez, D 1,488 (elected)
  • Christopher Yerinides, D 1,441 (elected)
  • Ellen Wink, R 634
  • Fred Fusci, R 550
  • Steve Serasis, petitioning candidate 136

Council District B

  • Travis Simms, D 917 (elected)
  • Faye Bowman, D 806 (elected)
  • Hector Correa, R 365
  • Manny Langella, R 349


Council District C

  • John Kydes, D 1,804 (elected)
  • Beth Siegelbaum, D 1,469 (elected)
  • Artie Kassimis, R 1,207
  • Vincenzo Capozzoli, R 1,064


Council District D

  • George Tsiranides, D 1,804 (elected)
  • Doug Hempstead, R 1,709 (elected, subject to recount)
  • William Pappa, D 1,694
  • Shannon O’Toole Giandurco, R 1,532


Council District E

  • Tom Livington, D 2,169 (elected)
  • John Igneri, D 2,126 (elected)
  • Ernie DesRochers, R 1,107
  • Josh Jewett, R 1,063


Board of Education

  • Heidi Keyes, D 8,398 (elected)
  • Barbara Meyer-Mitchell, D 7,898 (elected)
  • Sarah LeMieux, D 7,326 (elected)
  • Bruce Kimmel, D 7,124 (elected)
  • Mark D’Amelio, R 4,577
  • Thomas Donaher, R 4,231
  • Thomas Cullen, R 3,993
  • Shirley Mosby, WFP 2,010



  • Andy Garfunkel, D 7,966 (elected)
  • Samuel Pride, D 6,648 (elected)
  • Jeffery Konspore, R 4,589 (elected)
  • Kathryn Martino, R 4,438



  • Ernie Dumas, D 7,021 (elected)
  • Johnnie Mae Weldon, D 6,439 (elected)
  • Jalin Sead, D 6,233 (elected)
  • A. Samuel Disraelly, D 6,158 (elected)
  • Fred Bondi, R 5,205 (elected)
  • John Romano, R 4,900 (elected)
  • Frank Mauro, R 4,833 (elected)
  • James Feigenbaum, R 4,212


First Taxing District Commissioner

  • Tom Cullen, R 656 (elected)


First Taxing District Treasurer

  • Elsa Peterson Obuchowski, D 911 (elected)
  • Robert Mercurio, R 355

Second Taxing District Commissionner

  • David Westmoreland, D 670 (elected)
  • Mary Geake, D 662 (elected)
  • Maria Borges-Lopez, R 215 (elected)


Second Taxing District Treasurer

  • Darlene Young, D 803 (elected)


Third Taxing District Commissioner

  • Pam Parkington, D 760 (elected)
  • Charlie Yost, R  519


Third Taxing District Treasurer

  • Johnnie Mae Weldon, D 760 (elected)
  • Vincenzo Capozzoli, R 527


Sixth Taxing District Commissioner

  • Mike Barbis, D 792 (elected)


Sixth Taxing District Treasurer

  • James Hendrickson, R 639 (elected)


One comment

Stuart Wells November 9, 2017 at 9:00 am

3RD TD TREASURER – Correction

Error in spreadsheet formula. Sorry for the confusion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

About this site

NancyOnNorwwalk.com was conceived as the place to go for Norwalk residents to get the real, unvarnished story about what is going on in and around their city. NancyOnNorwalk does not intend to be a print newspaper online; rather, it exists to pull the curtain back and shine a spotlight on how Norwalk is run and what is happening regarding issues that have an impact on taxpayers’ pocketbooks and safety. As an independent site, NancyOnNorwalk’s first and only allegiance is to the reader.

About Nancy

Nancy came to Norwalk in September 2010 and, after reporting on Norwalk for two years for another company, resigned to begin Nancy On Norwalk so she engage in journalism the way it was meant to be done. She is married to career journalist Mark Chapman, has a son, Eric (the artist and web designer who built this website), and two cats – a middle-aged lady and a young hottie who are learning how to peacefully co-exist.