Norwalk Dems, Republicans, invite voters to caucuses to elect new members

Running for the Democratic Town Committee in District A are, from left, Nicole Ayers, Broderick Sawyer and Jalin Sead.
Running for the Democratic Town Committee in District A are, from left, Nicole Ayers, Broderick Sawyer and Jalin Sead.

Updated, 2 p.m., comment from Pete Torrano.

NORWALK, Conn. – Norwalk Democrats have finalized the locations for their Jan. 6 caucus, in which Democratic Norwalkers – anyone who is registered Democrat – can vote on who will be in the expanded Democratic Town Committee.

The DTC is expanding from 35 members to 55 members in an effort to be more inclusive, DTC Chairman Ed Camacho said. That’s 11 members per municipal district; on Wednesday, four of the five districts had more candidates than that, according to lists provided by Democratic Registrar Stuart Wells.

Norwalk Republicans are also voting on their party membership soon, but there are no major changes expected. There are 100 members of the Republican Town Committee. The vote is in one location, the Norwalk Inn, at 7:30 p.m. Jan. 11.

“Shouldn’t be any shifts except a possible change in leadership in some districts and on the RTC exec committee in March,” RTC Chairman Pete Torrano said. “A usual occurrence every two years.”

The Democratic caucuses begin at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 6, and will be held at the following locations:

  • DISTRICT A – Kendall School, 57 Fillow St., Norwalk, CT 06850;
  • DISTRICT B – Calvary Baptist Church, 21 Concord St., Norwalk, CT 06854;
  • DISTRICT C – Nathan Hale Middle School, 176 Strawberry Hill Ave., Norwalk, CT 06851;
  • DISTRICT D – Norwalk Senior Center, 11 Allen Road, Norwalk, CT 06851; and
  • DISTRICT E – Rowayton Community Center, The Underground (direct entrance from the back of the Community Center), 33 Highland Ave., Rowayton, CT 06853.

Anyone whose name appears on the last completed enrollment lists of the Democratic Party will be allowed into their district caucus to vote, according to a DTC press release.

It’s possible that there will be write-in candidates. It’s also possible that the district committees will work out their lists of candidates and whittle it down to 11, so that a vote will not be necessary.

Polls, where the outcome is contested, will stay open until 9 p.m.

If a run-off is needed it will be held on Thursday, Jan. 7, in the same time and location.

The current list of candidates:


District A

  1. Nicol Ayers
  2. Julie Corbett
  3. Carolyn Fuller
  4. Andy Garfunkel
  5. Laoise King
  6. Eloisa Melendez
  7. Rosa Murray
  8. Elsa Peterson Obuchowski
  9. Juanita Olguin
  10. Joe Perella
  11. Broderick Sawyer
  12. Jalin Sead
  13. Steve Serasis


District B

  1. Erik Anderson
  2. Phaedrel “Faye” Bowman
  3. Edwin Camacho (Current DTC chairman)
  4. Ernest Dumas
  5. Martha Dumas
  6. Raymond Dunlap
  7. Maria Fernanda Flores
  8. Michael Geake
  9. Mary Geake
  10. Manny Langella
  11. Mike Mushak
  12. Travis Simms
  13. Sharon Stewart
  14. David Westmoreland
  15. Howard White
  16. Michael Witherspoon


District C:

  1. Adonis Filpo
  2. Taber Hamilton
  3. John Hauter
  4. John Kydes
  5. Linda Langston
  6. John Metsopoulos
  7. Lisa Nuzzo
  8. Pam Parkington
  9. Brenda Penn-Williams
  10. Kevin Poruban
  11. Beth Siegelbaum
  12. Doug Stern
  13. Peter Thor
  14. Johnnie Mae Weldon


District D

  1. Kay Anderson
  2. Tony Ditrio
  3. Bob Hard
  4. Bruce Kimmel
  5. Diane Lauricella
  6. Patricia Marshock
  7. Lynne Moore
  8. Warren Pena
  9. Marilyn Robinson
  10. Nick Sacchinelli
  11. Crystal Santiago
  12. Joseph Tamburri


District E

  1. John Igneri
  2. Nora King
  3. Ronald Kowalski
  4. Tom Livingston
  5. Frank Nash
  6. Naomi Oppmann
  7. Lucia Rilling
  8. Kate Tepper
  9. Patricia Tinto
  10. Galen Wells

District E sources say Mike Barbis is expected to run as well.

No candidate lists were available Wednesday night for the Republican Party.

New members of both parties take office in March.




One response to “Norwalk Dems, Republicans, invite voters to caucuses to elect new members”

  1. Broderick I. Sawyer

    My fellow Norwalk residents,

    I’ve put my name forward to be considered for a Democratic Town Committee seat in District A. Watching from the sidelines was not enough, it was time to become more involved in my hometown’s political process. Whether you vote more me or not, I encourage all to come out and vote in the Democratic and Republican caucuses, since it really does matter to our community.

    The voting for District A Democratic Town Committee seats will be held on January 6, 2016 beginning at 7:30pm ending at 9:00pm, all registered District A Democrats are eligible to vote at Kendall School. The Republican caucus will be held on January 11,2016. If you have questions regarding your voting locations or your registered status, contact the Norwalk Registrar of Voters office, [email protected] or 203-854-7764.

    Bear in mind that if a runoff becomes necessary, it will be held on January 7, 2016 at the same time and location.

    Happy New Year to all!

    Broderick I. Sawyer

Leave a Reply

Recent Comments